What Is the Florida PIP 14-day Rule?
After a Florida Auto Accident, STOP THE CLOCK! The 14-day PIP Rule requires injured victims to seek medical care within 14-days of their auto accident to file a claim. This rule exists to ensure the injury claims are valid and related to the traffic accident. Failure to receive medical care within the first 14-days can seriously impact your claim and may cause you to lose your right to receive compensation entirely and worse, you will lose the $10,000 in benefits you pay for.
After a car accident, if injured in a car accident you must see a qualified doctor within 14-days or you lose the $10,000 in medical and lost wages benefits you pay for.
Florida 14-Day PIP Rule Explained
What is PIP in Florida?
Personal Injury Protection (commonly known as “PIP” or “Florida No Fault”) are benefits that you pay for in your auto insurance which pays 80% of your medical bills and 60% of your lost wages after suffering injuries in an auto accident, regardless of who is at-fault. This is required in Florida under Florida Statute § 627.737(2).
When should you hire a car accident lawyer?
Hire an experienced lawyer sooner than later because there are certain deadlines that need to be met or you may lose the benefits you are entitled to receive. Qualified car accident lawyers have dealt with thousands of auto accident cases and know how to get insurance companies to pay what you are rightfully owed. Insurance companies are not on your side. Remember, insurance companies are in the business of making money. They are literally in the risk business and they never lose.
When you hire an experienced car accident attorney they’ll fight to get you the biggest compensation possible. Typically PIP claims are capped up to $10,000, but if your injuries are serious enough, your lawyer can pursue further legal action for your injuries.
What Is Florida No-Fault Insurance?
Florida No-Fault insurance is the minimum mandatory auto insurance required to register a motor vehicle in the State of Florida. Simply put, it is the bare minimum insurance required to register your car and get a driver’s license.
What Is the Minimum Amount of Car Insurance In Florida?
Before you register a vehicle with at least four wheels in Florida, you must show proof of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) automobile insurance.
PIP covers 80% of all necessary and reasonable medical expenses up to $10,000 resulting from a covered injury, no matter who caused the crash. This amount has not increased since 1971 when Florida passed No-Fault insurance. PDL coverage pays for damage to another person’s property caused by you or someone else driving your insured vehicle.
What Is the Minimum Amount of Insurance Required to Register My Car?
Florida Statute § 627.737(2), states that any vehicle with a current Florida registration must:
- be insured with Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL) insurance at the time of vehicle registration.
- have a minimum of $10,000 in PIP AND a minimum of $10,000 in PDL. Vehicles registered as taxis must carry bodily injury liability (BIL) coverage of $125,000 per person, $250,000 per occurrence and $50,000 for (PDL) coverage.
- have continuous coverage even if the vehicle is not being driven or is inoperable. Surrender the license plate/tag BEFORE canceling your insurance.
- purchase the policy from an insurance carrier licensed to do business in Florida. (If you are new to the state, you may ask your agent to transfer your current insurance to a Florida policy.)
- maintain Florida insurance coverage continuously throughout the registration period regardless of the vehicle’s location.
Who Pays For Car Damage in Florida No-Fault?
Either the at-fault party pays for the property damage or your collision coverage pays your own damage. Unfortunately, cops on the scene and everyday lay people get car damage and Florida No-Fault confused or are simply wrong. Under Florida’s no-fault laws, your insurance will pay for your medical bills after an accident you did not cause in Florida. That has nothing to do with property damage. If liability is clear, the at-fault insurance carrier will pay for the property damage. Your collision coverage could also cover the costs of damages, especially if your property damage exceeds the at-fault party’s property damage policy limits.
Will My Car Insurance Increase for Filing a No-Fault Claim?
Florida law is clear that your auto insurance cannot go up for a no-fault claim. If your insurance company is raising your rates after an accident – that was not your fault – they are acting in bad faith and you have grounds for a claim against them.
What Happens If I Don’t Have Bodily Injury Coverage in Florida?
If you do not carry bodily injury coverage and cause an accident that hurts someone else, you will be personally responsible to cover their medical bills, pain and suffering, and loss of earnings. Also, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DMV) will suspend your license for up to 20 years or until you pay the judgment.
Tampa Personal Injury Attorney | Auto Accident Injury Lawyer
As a family-owned law firm based in Tampa, we understand the importance of save driving and protection. To find out more about how we can help, contact us today.
See why experience and results matter.
|Call or Text Your Tampa Personal Injury Attorney at 813-755-9500|
- Personal Injury
- Automobile Negligence
- Wrongful Death
- “Ride Share” Uber/Lyft Accidents
- Pedestrian Accidents
- Bicycle Accidents
- Motorcycle Accidents
- Tractor Trailer Accidents
- Drunk Driving Accidents
Tampa Auto Accident Injury Lawyer | Martin J Hernandez, Esq.
If you have been injured in any kind of accident, your personal injury lawyer with the law firm of Martin J. Hernandez will guide you every step of the way. Call or Text us now at 813-755-9500
Martin J. Hernandez Firm’s lawyers handle personal injury cases throughout the entire Tampa, Temple Terrace, South Tampa & West Tampa area. Areas we service include Carrollwood, Northdale, Town ‘n’ Country, Brandon, Plant City, Seffner, Dover, Valrico, Riverview, West Tampa, West Chase, Hyde Park, Culbreath, West Shore, Palma Ceia, Gulfview, 33635, 33615, 33634, 33626, 33625, 33508, 33509, 33510, 33511,33568, 33569, 33578, 33579 & all of Hillsborough County and the state of Florida.